Taekwondo Patterns

Patterns, or Poomses in the Korean language, are a series of defending and attacking movements performed against imaginary opponents in a set routine. Through the practice of poomse, students come to learn the applications of various techniques of Taekwondo. Poomse serve a role by aiding in development and refinement of coordination, balance, timing, breath control and rhythm, all of which are essential skills to the Taekwondo student.


Taegeuk (W.T.F.)

Ying Yang

The World Taekwondo Federation (W.T.F.) uses Taegeuk Poomses for patterns. Poomses originate from the book 'I Ching', a Chinese oracle. The I Ching has 64 hexagrams, a combination of two sets of three lines, closed or broken. The sets of three lines are called trigrams. The closed lines represent Yang, the open lines Yin (Eum). In the chinese language, the unity of Yin and Yang is called 'taich'i'. In the Korean language, the unity is called T'ae-guk. This explains the term Poomse Taeguk. The eight trigrams together are called Pal-gwe as in Poomse Palgwe...




Heaven - Keon - 18 Movements
View Il Jang
Joyfulness - Tae - 18 Movements
View Ee Jang
Fire - Ri - 20 Movements
View Sam Jang
Thunder - Jin - 20 Movements
View Sah Jang
Wind - Seon - 20 Movements
View Oh Jang
Water - Gam - 23 Movements
View Yook Jang
Mountain - Gan - 25 Movements
View Chil Jang
Earth - Gon - 24 Movements
View Pal Jang


Videos for the Dan grade patterns can be found here...


Kibon (Basic) Forms

Beginners will also practice the Kibon (basic) forms which are short and easier to remember, especially for our younger students. Click here to see more details about these...